A True Bargain




I was alone and I saw a well-crafted sterling silver Hand of Miriam on a Safed street. I held it in my hand and while I gazed at it, I asked the very religious shopkeep couple how much. They stared at me.

After a hesitation, he said ten dollars. When I looked up at him, I saw he was happy. She brought me inside and found a silver chain for it. She clasped the pendant around my neck. I smiled, walked out into the sunshine, and said goodbye. They looked at me, startlingly serious – and both asked God to bless me.

Later, some teens were admiring the pendant and asked me where I got it. I didn’t know how to pronounce Safed. Their eyes grew large and their jaws dropped. But just for a split second and the light chatter continued.




One Response to “A True Bargain”

  1. i fownd this

    To the tune of “Call Me”

    Tweet us all your stories baby
    Tweet at us some burns
    Tweet us all your stories, darling
    Not sure what you are
    Come up off your ranting start
    Dunno where you’re coming from

    RON BRYN on the twitter
    Ronbryn, Ronbryn all the time
    RON BRYN on the twitter
    Ronbryn, all day and all the night
    Ron Bryn

    Cover all the Prog news baby
    Cover all the trials
    Troll me on the internets
    Please, I’ve had enough
    You disagree, we think you’re high
    Cover ups, demanding “Why”

    RON BRYN on the twitter
    Ronbryn, all day and all night
    RON BRYN oh my head aches
    When you’re on here we’ll always fight
    Ron Bryn

    Joo-oo-oo Joo-oo he speaks in language Brooklynese
    Joo-oo-oo Joo-oo Chinese food and latkes… with sour cream.
    Joo-oo-oo Joo-oo Anti-semitic trolls can leave the scene

    All the time, he can spar, he’s really angry
    All the time, he can spar, he’s really angry

    (Bridge)

    RON BRYN in my head
    Ronbryn, Ronbryn all day and all night
    RON BRYN Anon nooz
    Ronbryn Ronbryn, trolls are his plight
    RON BRYN says um
    ronbryn ronbryn knows he’s always right

    Ronbryn…
    Ronbryn… for your puppet’s puppet’s fish to fry

    RON BRYN on the twitter
    Ronbryn, Ronbryn all day and night

    Ron Bryn unhunh
    Ron Bryn uhmmhmmMmmmmm
    Ron Bryn

    (fade)

Leave a Qomment

