Winnie’s

Winnie's
Photo by Justin Beck

I finally went to Winnie’s which was more fun than I thought it would be.  It’s a cheesy good time.  Mostly dates and groups.  I think my friends had fun.  There was Robitussin behind the bar.  Mixed drinks are weak and $8.  Here is some conversation from the evening:

J: Did you read Harry Potter?
Qritiq: No.  I’m an adult.

And later:
J: Have you seen Ninja Warrior?
Qritiq: No.  I’m an adult.... to do blocks of Ninja Warrior

In the Hampton’s, all the guys sing Madonna songs at karaoke, but here it was more of the Sweet Home Alabama thing.  One guy with a handsome face sang Tempted and did a great job of it.  He looked at me a few times, but I didn’t go over to talk.  (Girls – do you prefer if a guy is assertive/aggressive and comes over to you/ sends you a drink?  Or do you find that irritating and prefer if he just shoots you a few smiles to let you know he’s interested and then it’s up to you whether you want to go and talk to him or not.  I am curious what your thoughts are on this.)  My friends sang Rhinestone Cowboy – a crowdpleaser (now just try to get that tune out of your head).  We are planning to try live band karaoke next.

During the evening I walked prolly a few miles in my platforms.  Youchh!  Then I get to Penn Station and all the girls have small purses (just like me) and are carrying their heels and wearing flip-flops.  Doh!  H&M next stop for flats to keep in my bag.

Hey – I tried frog legs for the first time earlier in the evening at Thai Son.  A bit bony and chewy, but otherwise ok.  My beef over vermicelli was pretty darn good.  I gave them a great tip, but they asked us to vacate our table anyway.  Lingering apparently verboten.  So — only go there if you’re in a hurry.

Winnie’s
104 Bayard St., New York, NY
nr. Baxter St.
(212) 732-2384

Thaison Restaurant
89 Baxter St., New York, NY
(212) 732-2822

Leave a Qomment

